1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Careers in physics other than teaching or research

1. Jun 12, 2015 #1
    Hi everyone,
    Im from India, a country where the general line careers wont fetch luxury or good financial stability. After doing bachelors in Physics, what are the options open for me other than the teaching profession or Ph.D.? I also need to keep in mind about the financial security while deciding my career.

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 12, 2015 #2
    Being a programmer or software engineer is a possible option since their is not necessarily a standardized education for those positions. Just have to be adept at programming (which is usually self taught with enough dedication)

Forensic Science
    Principal Antenna Engineer
    Meteorologist
    Actuary
    Plasma Etching Engineer
    Research Technician
    Scientific Programming Analyst
    Radio Frequency Development
    Health Physics
    Environmental Science

These are just a few results I found based on actual job ads from companies. It is true that Physics does not specifically train you for a particular job, but unlike what people may tell you (especially on this forum) is that their are companies that do hire physics majors. Some of the jobs I listed will require some form of advanced/additional education. However, most of them will hire Physics BS.