1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Choosing a class: CS vs. ODE vs. stats.

1. Aug 3, 2008 #1
    I am an incoming sophomore that is majoring in math and having a potential interest in studying physics along side. Right now, I'm trying to take one more class alongside of physics (first year), abstract algebra, and history (for grad requirement). So far, I found these three courses to be interesting, so I'd like to know which would be the best.

1. Computer Science I
    The first sequence of the first-year computer science course that mainly teaches programming using Java. I have a very little experience w/ programming, and I always wanted to know a little bit about it. And it also sounds useful if I'm studying math and/or physics, but I don't know if Java is the right language, after reading some people's recommendations (e.g. FORTRAN, C++).

2. Ordinary Differential Equations
    I've taken the "Introduction to Differential Equation" course already, but I'm assuming this course is going to be more advanced than the introductory course (since it has Elementary Analysis or Honors Calculus as a prerequisite). I don't know what this course really covers, so I emailed the professor who's teaching this course to get some idea. But besides that, I think this might be an interesting and a useful course to take, especially if I want to study physics, but again, I might be wrong.

3. Intro to Statistics
    A stat course for people who have taken single-var calculus. Since I don't know much about stats and probability, I thought this might be a good course to take.

Let me know if you have any suggestion.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 4, 2008 #2