Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Clarification on wavefunction collapse

1. Oct 16, 2007 #1
    I am just beginning to understand this concept. Some help would be appreciated.
    Let me know if I am wrong in saying the following:
    "The wave function (say [tex]\Psi[/tex]] collapses to an eigen vector of the operator corresponding to the physical quantity(say [tex]\lambda[/tex]) being measured. This is because the act of measuring interferes with the system"

Now what confuses me (further) is that, as a result of the wavefunction collapsing to an Eigen vector, the subsequent measurements give the values with a probability 1.
    I understand that if [tex]\Psi[/tex]=[tex]\Sigma[/tex] ai Ni and [tex]\Psi[/tex] collapses to some Ni, ai=1 => probability is 1.
    But doesnt this eigen function Ni now act as a new [tex]\Psi[/tex] !
    We should be able to find a basis set of vectors corresponding to Ni in which case it should again collapse to another smaller eigenvector. This doesnt seem to happen.
    Why?
    Hope the question is clear.

Last edited: Oct 16, 2007
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 16, 2007 #2
  4. Oct 16, 2007 #3
    I did notice those. They dont (atleast directly) answer this question. Kindly clarify my understanding first and then the question. I am pretty confused at the moment and the forums you mentioned only confuse me further. I am still learning this concept! Those forums are for pros like you!

5. Oct 16, 2007 #4

f95toli

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

In one of the threads I gave a reference to an article by Zurek:

www.arxiv.org/abs/quant-ph/0306072

Look in the section on einselecton and pointer states; you will find the answer there.
    Essentially, it has to do with the fact that pointer states are (almost by
    definition) "robust" to new measurements which is why they won't change.