Coefficient of Restitution in x and y

In summary, if you have two objects moving along a line, you can fix a positive orientation of the line and use the velocity components in x and y to calculate the direction of each object. If the collision is in the plane, you can use the velocity components in x and y to calculate the direction of each object.
unseeingdog
I am currently studying collisions in high school and my teacher told us that, in order to calculate the direction of each object after a 2-body collision, we could change the values in the relative velocity terms of the equation of the coefficient of restitution to the components in x and y. Is this true? Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
If collisions are on a line, you can fix a positive orientation of the line so you have positive and negative velocities respect the two opposit directions... it is possible to interpret the minus in front of the vector as a velocity in the opposite sense ...
If the collision is in the plane you can always do the same component by component ...
I don't know if I answered ...
Ssnow

Ssnow said:
If collisions are on a line, you can fix a positive orientation of the line so you have positive and negative velocities respect the two opposit directions... it is possible to interpret the minus in front of the vector as a velocity in the opposite sense ...
If the collision is in the plane you can always do the same component by component ...
I don't know if I answered ...
Ssnow
So, say, if one of the bodies moves along the x axis, and the other moves with an angle of 120 with respect to the horizontal, one can write ##e_x = (v_2cos(120) - v_1)/(u_1 - u_2cos(120)## ?