Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Combustion temperature and pressure

1. Feb 21, 2016 #1
    hi
    i have a cylinder whose volume, intake and exhaust area is known. i know the amount of air entering into the combustion chamber(cylinder) and the amount of fuel entering into the combustion chamber. i am taking an ideal approach and assuming stoichiometric combustion (LPG). is there any formulation or method for me to find out temperature, pressure or anyone of these properties in combustion chamber????

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 21, 2016 #2
    Are the intake and exhaust closed during the combustion? Is the volume of the cylinder constant during the combustion? Have you had a course in thermodynamics yet?

4. Feb 22, 2016 #3
    it is a pulsejet (valveless type) and i am an engineering student, so yes i have attended the course. it is a constant volume combustion because the cycle momentarily stops and at that moment combustion occurs, so yes we can say that intake and exhaust are closed because there is no flow at that moment. i know how to get the adiabatic flame temperature for constant volume through which i can get pressure but through various research papers and blogs i know the compression ratio remains in range of 1.2-1.3. if i follow the correct method through wihich i find enthalpies of products and reactants, the pressure it shows is quite large ( way off ) than the experimental values. i want to know what to do

5. Feb 22, 2016 #4