1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Support PF! Reminder for those going back to school to buy their text books via PF Here!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Relativity Comparing General Relativity books

1. Mar 6, 2016 #1
    Hello. I have 2 books in General Relativity: MTW Gravitation and Bernard Schutz First Course in General Relativity. I studied Calculus I, II, and have a basic understanding of Linear Algebra(did not studied extensively). I want to learn about GR as much as possible, and improve myself to become at least semi-professional on the topic, on the other hand I do not have enough time to read a big book such as MTW right know read Schutz. Just want to know what will I miss if I learn GR from Schutz instead of MTW Track-1 and is it sufficient to be good in GR as a graduate student?

P.S. MTW Track-1 topics is outlined gray in the book.
    P.P.S. I am willing to spend time to learn GR, but I am not Physics student to spend all my time to solely Physics, so I would not prefer to spend much time to learn the same thing just with more examples and explanations, while I can spend less time to read and much time to think about the topics I read and figure out what is going on in my head. So I would know if the differences between the books are really such kind of.
    I am sorry, if my language is as bad as not to be understood, but hope my question is clear. I appreciate your answers.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 6, 2016 #2

bcrowell

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member