Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I Completeness of a basis function

1. Oct 24, 2018 #1

joshmccraney

Gold Member

Hi PF!

I'm somewhat new to the concept of completeness, but from what I understand, a particular basis function is complete in a given space if it can create any other function in that space. Is this correct?

I read that the set of polynomials is not complete (unsure of the space, since Taylor series can represent all continuous functions) but that Legendre polynomials are complete. Can anyone correct, finesse, or provide a working example of this?

Thanks!

Last edited: Oct 24, 2018
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 24, 2018 #2

fresh_42

2017 Award

Staff: Mentor

No.
    At least your question isn't specifically enough to be answered clearly. Completeness usually relates to a certain set, and there are more than one way to complete such a set. E.g. ##\mathbb{R}## is the topological completion of ##\mathbb{Q}##, whereas ##\mathbb{C}## is the algebraic completion (better: closure) of ##\mathbb{R}##.
    Taylor series are series, not polynomials.
    What you wrote sounds to be the completion of a few linear independent functions to a basis in a given space; or the change to an orthonormal basis; or the description of the solution space to some equations. This usage of completion is misleading, at least if not explicitly stated what has to be completed to achieve what.

Last edited: Oct 24, 2018
  4. Oct 24, 2018 #3

joshmccraney

Gold Member

Thanks for the response.

Hmmmm so how would you interpret the statement "complete basis functions"? Application here is with a functional, and evidently the input functions must be complete (nothing further given, I guess in physics/engineering it's assumed the reader knows the space and norm)?

5. Oct 24, 2018 #4

fresh_42

2017 Award

Staff: Mentor