Compute Breit-Wigner for particle decay

In summary, the conversation is about computing the Breit-Wigner for a particle decay and using it for nonlinear fitting of data. The expression for the Breit-Wigner is posted on a website, but the individual is having trouble understanding the math involved, particularly the use of the imaginary unit. After some discussion, it is clarified that the imaginary part of the expression gets squared in the denominator, resulting in a real final result.
mefistofeles
Hey, I am just woondering if anyone here have computed (numerically) the Breit-Wigner for a particle decay. I have to do some nonlinear fitting of data but I need to compute this, any ideas?

My case is specific, and I am brand new to particle physics, it's for a tau decay into Kaon, pion and tau neutrino. The expression I have for the Breit-Wigner is posted in: http://mathbin.net/5566

I still don't understand the math beneath the expression. All I am asked is to compute it, what I am having trouble with is that i on the Breit-Wigner, I am not sure if that's the imaginary unit or something different, so if you know please help me compute this. Thanks for the attention.

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
OK I gave it a second thought and I got it, that BW (for that decay) appears inside a function which is squared, so the imaginary part actually disappears, should have seen this before posting heh, sorry.

The I am doesn't disappear, but gets squared in the denominator.

OK, that's what I meant by "disappear", sorry the non-technical term. And you are right, it gets squared so that i^2 = -1 and the final result is real which corresponds to the "magnitude" of the complex number.

No. You take the complex conjugate so (i)(-i)=+1.

1. What is the Breit-Wigner formula used for in particle decay computations?