Compute the G.C.D of two Gaussian Integers

In summary, the conversation is about finding the Greatest Common Divisor (G.C.D) of two Gaussian integers, a=14+2i and b=21+26i. The norm of a and b are found to be 200 and 1117, respectively. It is suggested that any common divisor must also divide the G.C.D of the norms. Since 1117 and 200 are co-prime, their G.C.D is 1, making the G.C.D of a and b a unit (1, -1, i, -i) in the ring. It is then discussed that in the integers, any factor that divides (a+bi) must also divide (a+bi)(a-bi
DeldotB

Homework Statement

Hello all I apologize for the triviality of this:
Im new to this stuff (its easy but unfamiliar) I was wondering if someone could verify this:

Find the G.C.D of [itex]a= 14+2i [/itex] and [itex]b=21+26i [/itex].

[itex] a,b \in \mathbb{Z} [ i ] [/itex] - Gaussian Integers

Homework Equations

None

The Attempt at a Solution

Well, is it true that any common divisor must also divide the G.C.D of the norm's of [itex] a [/itex]and[itex] b [/itex]?

If so then, [itex] norm(14+2i)=200 [/itex]
[itex]norm(21+26i)=1117 [/itex]

Well, since 1117 and 200 are co-prime, their greatest common divisor is one. Thus,

Thus the G.C.D of a,b is a unit (1,-1,i,-i) in the ring.

Thanks

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Everything that divides (a+bi) also divides (a+bi)(a-bi), sure.
DeldotB said:
Well, since 1117 and 200 are co-prime
In the integers. You'll have to show that this is true for Gaussian integer factors as well.

1. What are Gaussian Integers?

Gaussian Integers are complex numbers that can be expressed in the form of a + bi, where a and b are both integers and i is the imaginary unit (√-1).

2. How do I compute the G.C.D of two Gaussian Integers?

To compute the G.C.D of two Gaussian Integers, you can use the Euclidean algorithm. This involves repeatedly finding the remainder when one number is divided by the other until the remainder is 0. The last non-zero remainder is the G.C.D.