Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Compute transformation matrix in nth dimension

1. Dec 1, 2009 #1
    I have a vector of all ones in n-dimensions. For example (1,1,1) in 3D. I want to find a invertible rotation matrix T that transforms the vector of all ones to the vector (0,0,0,...,0,,1):

Let v be the vector of all ones, and w=(0,0,...,0,1)
    Find T such that T.v == w

In low dimension it is easy to find such a vector with the routine below, but computationally intensive when d>5. Is there a better way?

Basic routine: represent the components of T as variables and find a solution to the non-linear problem of finding an invertible matrix T (Det[T]!=0) that satisfies the dot product T.v == w.

Any better ideas?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 1, 2009 #2
    I'm no expert here, but I don't see how this is possible.

Assume that the inverse of T exists, and that it is A = inverse(T).The original problem can then be rewritten:
    Tv = w
    v = Aw

However, the only way this can hold is if the columns of A are (0, 0, ..., 0, v) (where 0 here is the zero vector). Thus A is obviously not invertible, and thus T cannot be either.

If I'm wrong, I'm sorry. I'd love hear where I'm wrong tho :)

4. Dec 2, 2009 #3

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

??? Any transformation from R3 to Rn where n> 3 is not square and so is not invertible. Nor can it be a "rotation" matrix.

5. Dec 2, 2009 #4
    In 2D:
    T= {{1, -1}, {1, 0}}
    Tinverse = {{0, 1}, {-1, 1}}
    T.{1,1}={0,1}

In 3D:
    T= {{1, -1, 0}, {-1, 0, 1}, {1, 1, -1}}
    Tinverse = {{1, 1, 1}, {0, 1, 1}, {1, 2, 1}}
    T.{1,1,1}={0,0,1}

In 4D:
    T= {{-1, -2, 0, 3}, {-2, -1, 0, 3}, {-1, 1, -1, 1}, {2, -2, 1, 0}}
    Tinverse = {{-(2/3), 1/3, 1, 1}, {-(5/3), 4/3, 1, 1}, {-2, 2, 0, 1}, {-1, 1, 1,
    1}}
    T.{1,1,1,1}={0,0,0,1}

6. Dec 2, 2009 #5