Computing the Jacobian matrix for a solar system simulation

In summary, a computer science student is trying to model the solar system and needs to compute the Jacobian matrix to apply gravitational forces to the planets. The resulting matrix will be 9x9 and is constructed using the gravitational force equation and respective dimension components. The Jacobian matrix is a gradient of size 1x3 and can be found by differentiating with one variable and considering all other values as constant.
doonzy
Hello physicists!

I'm a comp sci student and I am trying to graphically model a simplified version of the solar system as part of a programming exercise. In order to apply the gravitational forces to the planets, I need to compute the Jacobian matrix as it relates to two particles (planetary objects). My (limited) understanding is that the resulting matrix will be 9x9, but I am unsure how it is constructed exactly. This is what I have come up with so far:

[tex]J = \begin{pmatrix}
\frac{\partial F_1}{\partial r_1} & \frac{\partial F_1}{\partial r_2} & \frac{\partial F_1}{\partial r_3}\\
\frac{\partial F_2}{\partial r_1} & \frac{\partial F_2}{\partial r_2} & \frac{\partial F_2}{\partial r_3}\\
\frac{\partial F_3}{\partial r_1} & \frac{\partial F_3}{\partial r_2} & \frac{\partial F_3}{\partial r_3}
\end{pmatrix}[/tex]

where [tex]\frac{\partial F_i}{\partial r_i}[/tex] is 3x3, [tex]F[/tex] is the gravitational force [tex]F = \frac{Gm_1m_2}{r^2}[/tex] and [tex]r[/tex] is the respective dimension component [tex](x, y, z)[/tex].

Some clarification would be much appreciated :-)

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
Well, ##r^2=\sqrt{r_1^2+r_2^2+r_3^2}##, hence ##F\, : \,\mathbb{R}^3 \longrightarrow \mathbb{R}## which means it has only one component and your Jacobian matrix is a gradient, i.e. of size ##1 \times 3##. The derivative is the same as at school: differentiate with only one variable ##r_i## and consider all other values as constant.

1. What is a Jacobian matrix?