COMSOL for thin film heterostructures

In summary, the speaker is an experimentalist/processor who wants to know if COMSOL is appropriate for modeling intrinsic stress in thin film heterostructures. They mention that the software has limitations for modeling lattice parameters and microstructures, but it can handle complex geometric structures and anisotropic properties. They also mention that the amorphous materials can be modeled as long as they follow a continuum law. They suggest looking at the official documentation or model library for tutorials and examples.
momar
I am trying to model intrinsic stress of some thin film heterostructures. As I am not a modeler but an experimentalist/processor by trade, I would prefer to minimize the amount of time I spend banging my head against the wall trying to find out if this software is appropriate. So, my question is whether COMSOL is appropriate for this. I note that they include thermal expansion coefficient in the materials database, but I did not see lattice parameters/crystal structures etc. If so, I also need to know if it is possible to include model amorphous materials? I suppose if not I can manually alter some of the parameters slightly to force the model to agree with the raman stress measurements.

Thanks.

Engineering news on Phys.org