1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Confused in acceleration and velocity

1. Mar 3, 2015 #1
    I am extremely confused in Acceleration and velocity plz explain in detail with example

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 3, 2015 #2
    Can you be more specified what you dont understand or you dont understand anything of this at all ?

4. Mar 3, 2015 #3
    now i have understood something but still need u

if
    v0 = 10
    v1 = 2

t0 = 1
    t1 = 1

so
    a = 8

am i right?

5. Mar 3, 2015 #4

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

what level are you in school? Do you understand calculus?

6. Mar 3, 2015 #5
    dear phinds
    I am a student of arts but for some years science has been taken place in my heart thts why i want to study it as much as possible

u can better explain me what is calculus

7. Mar 3, 2015 #6

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

Irrelevant. If you don't even know what it IS then you certainly won't understand explanations that use it.

Suffice it to say, velocity is the rate of change of position and acceleration is the rate of change of velocity.

I don't follow what you did in post #3, but to the extent I do understand it, it does not make sense. If I'm reading it properly, you have two different velocities at the same time, which is not possible, and you have incorrectly taken that acceleration is just the difference in the two velocities.

8. Mar 3, 2015 #7
    no in this post there are not two different velocities i meant to say

v0 = starting velocity means the velocity of car at start

v1 = ending velocity means the velocity of car in the end

9. Mar 3, 2015 #8
    rate of velocity

10. Mar 3, 2015 #9