1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Confusion about Acceleration of an Object

1. Apr 26, 2013 #1
    (I am a newbie in physics. I did not use the template when posting as this isn't really a homework question but about something that makes me confused in elementary physics).
    Suppose I have two objects (with masses m<M respectively) connected vertically by a wire such that the one with mass m is above. Now I drop this thing and obviously it will speed up with the acceleration g.
    However, if I look at the forces acting on the smaller object with mass m, there are two forces: the earth's gravitational force mg and the force exerted by the bigger object Mg. So the total net force on the smaller object would be [itex]F=(M+m)g[/itex]. By the Newton's second law, it would accelerate with [itex]a=g(M+m)/m[/itex]
    This is paradoxical and it confuses me. Can you explain why?

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 27, 2013 #2
    I believe the net force on the smaller mass would be mg + the tension, not Mg.

Mg - T = Ma (net force on M)
    mg + t = ma (net force on m)

Combining the two gives Mg + mg = Ma + ma and so a = g

4. Apr 27, 2013 #3

haruspex

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

... and so T=0. In short, there's no tension.