Confusion with Dot Product in Polar Coordinates with the Metric Tensor

MrBillyShears
Gold Member

Main Question or Discussion Point

Alright, so I was reading up on tensors and such with non-Cartesian coordinate systems all day but now I'm a bit tired an confused so you'll have to forgive me if it's a stupid question. So to express the dot product in some coordinate system, it's:
[itex]g(\vec{A}\,,\vec{B})=A^aB^bg_{ab}[/itex]
And, if we're dealing with polar coordinates, then the metric is:
[itex]g_{ab}=\begin{pmatrix}1&0\\0&r^2\end{pmatrix}[/itex]
Alright, so the dot product is:
[itex]A^1B^1+(r)^2A^2B^2[/itex]
But which r? I know I'm probably only confused because I'm so tired right now, but both A and B have r's, do't they? Which r is used to compute this?
Remember, I'm just a student at this, so don't get too technical in the response, and sorry for any typos.
Thanks!

Answers and Replies

WWGD
Science Advisor
Gold Member
2019 Award
In my experience, both, r, theta are given as functions.

MrBillyShears
Gold Member
I'm trying to figure this out on my own. Perhaps no one understands what I'm asking. I'm asking if the metric tensor I listed above is valid to use in the dot product of two different vectors. Because the basis vectors are different at different points,
[itex]\vec{e}_{a'}=\Lambda^b{}_{a'}\vec{e}_{b}[/itex]
where
[itex]\Lambda^b{}_{a'}=\begin{pmatrix}cos{Θ}&sin{Θ}\\-rsin{Θ}&rcos{Θ}\end{pmatrix}[/itex]
So, if there are different basis vectors for different points, you can't use the same metric tensor as you would to say, transform a polar vector to a polar covector. Is this correct?

Fredrik
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Gold Member