Convert average into GPA for a foreigner

In summary, the conversation is about a student studying in Argentina who is concerned about their GPA and whether it will be recognized in the US. They ask for a way to calculate their GPA based on their average, but it is mentioned that there is no official conversion between grading systems. A website is shared as a guideline, but it is not an official measure.
fluidistic
Gold Member
Hi PF,
It might sounds stupid but if I don't ask I'll not know until I reach another turning point in my life.
I'm currently studying in Argentina and I'd like to know if there is a website or something like that that can tell what is my GPA in function of my average. Here we're evaluated on 10 and the passing grade is 4/10. I've heard that a 4/10 correspond to scoring well 60% of the exam, but it might just be rumors.
I'm a bit worried about my average and I'd like to know if I can dream about graduating in the US. Anyway I know I better score the best possible in order not to worry that much.
Sorry if I posted in the wrong section. Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
In general, there is no hard and fast way to convert between foreign grading systems.

uman said:
In general, there is no hard and fast way to convert between foreign grading systems.
Ok. Thank you for answering. It remains to me to get the best grades now.

I did find this. But keep in mind that it has no official meaning; it's just a guideline.

http://www.wes.org/gradeconversionguide/argentina.htm

Last edited by a moderator:
uman said:
I did find this. But keep in mind that it has no official meaning; it's just a guideline.

http://www.wes.org/gradeconversionguide/argentina.htm
Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:

Related to Convert average into GPA for a foreigner

1. How is GPA calculated for a foreign student?