1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Support PF! Reminder for those going back to school to buy their text books via PF Here!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Courant's Introduction to Calculus place on roadmap

1. Jul 19, 2014 #1
    Recently, knowing that I don't understand a lot of geometry and trigonometry stuff finally pissed me off, so I started re-learning math from scratch. Surprisingly, I found myself interested in discovering how all those things work and what they actually mean. Now I got a reading plan, but still have some questions about calculus. I studied it in high school and had a course in university, but was only good at calculating derivatives.

From what I've read here, it seems like starting with these books:
    • "Calculus: The Elements" by Comenetz
    • "Calculus and Analytic Geometry (9th Edition)" by Thomas, Finney
    and continuing with:
    • "Calculus" by Spivak
    would be a good choice.

But I'm having a hard time working out Courant's "Introduction to Calculus" place here. Should it be in the beginner's part of list or right after it? Is it worthwhile reading just 1st vol. (or a whole series) considering I'm definitely going to read those three books I mentioned above?

Also, do you think Comenetz and Thomas will provide enough background for such linear algebra books as:
    • "Linear algebra" by Friedberg, Insel, Spence
    • "Linear algebra" by Serge Lang
    • "Linear algebra" by Hoffman, Kunze
    or should I wait until I master Spivak?

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 19, 2014
  2. jcsd
  3. Jul 19, 2014 #2

verty

Homework Helper