1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Support PF! Reminder for those going back to school to buy their text books via PF Here!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Seeking Advice on my Plan for Calculus Self-Study Textbooks

1. Nov 23, 2014 #1
    Dear PF friends,

I am a sophomore with double majors in microbiology and mathematics (just declared on last week) doing research on the computational/quantitative biology research in the field of virology. In future, I want to go to a graduate school in either virology or computational biology that focus on both numerical approach and "wet experimental" approach to science. I just declared my second major in mathematics on last week since I thought that having a quantiative/analytic background like mathematics would be very helpful than chemistry or physics (which I was planning to major until my decision for mathematics). I have been planning to do a self-study on the mathematics, particularly the calculus, which I want to start as soon as this semester ends. I know a lot of working.computational knowledge in the vector calculus, linear algebra, differential equations, and discrete mathematics, but my mathematical knowledge is sporadic and non-systematic. My mathematics adviser also recommended me to do some self-study so I can effectively prepare for my multi-variable calculus and linear algebra courses on next semester. Unfortunately, my only mathematics course is a first semester of typical single-variable calculus course which I took on last year's Fall; I was not able to proceed to the second semester after that since I took many chemistry courses to satisfy my chemistry major (which I am not pursuing now). My math adviser told me I can proceed to multi-variable calculus & linear algebra on next semester if I am comfort