1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

CS to Civil/Structural Engineering

1. Jun 19, 2008 #1
    I used to be a Computer engineering student and was a bit behind in math, so I went through the majority of my CS course without doing the EE. In 1 more year I will graduate with a CS degree.

I don't like the EE stuff to be honest, but like the other more mechanics type engineering. I dont want a Computer Engineering degree, I am fine with the CS. What I now really want to do is Civil. I saw a Civil friend of mine in school doing Structural analysis and I really liked it.

So what I am asking is with my new interest, is there a way to do Civil in Graduate school, instead of having to go back for another 4 year degree, which I really don't want to do.
  2. jcsd
  3. Jun 19, 2008 #2
    Yeah, just apply for a masters program in Civil. You might have to make up expected background that you're missing.
  4. Jun 19, 2008 #3
    You should look into what is necessary to becoming a professional engineer in your chosen field. It may be more important for work as a civil engineer than in some other areas. It is possible that you could never be a licensed PE without a B.S. engineering degree. I think this varies by state, but I am not sure.
  5. Jun 19, 2008 #4
    BN is correct on all counts, including the part he's not sure about.