De Broglie Bohm interpretation with virtual particles....

In summary: The vacuum fluctuation could theoretically produce an electron-position pair, but it is not guaranteed to do so.
asimov42
Hi all,

This question is similar to a question asked previously, but slightly different. I understand that there have now been attempts to extend the Broglie-Bohm, or Pilot Wave, interpretation of QM to QFT.

I'm a layman, but if I understand correctly, the standard method for computing the wave function involves summing all the ways a particle, say an electron, could move from A to B - including interacting with virtual particles along with way. Is this all handled by the pilot wave in the Broglie-Bohm interpretation? Since the particle 'surfing' the pilot wave always has a definite position and momentum?

The last thing I'm wondering about (and I'm not doing a good job of stating it here) - The moving particle could go from A to B without interacting with anything - but would also include the situation in which a virtual electron-positron pair pops into existence near the original, real, electron. In this latter case, the 'first' (real) electron could annihilate with the virtual positron, leaving the second electron ... which would then become 'real' (i.e. because it's forced to 'exist' due to its original partner, the positron, being annihilated with the first electron).

Could this type of thing even happen in the Pilot Wave theory? I think I'm confusing a number of different things so any insight would be really really helpful.

Thanks.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Well first virtual particles dont' actually exist - they are simply a colourful name for terms in what's called a Dyson series:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dyson_series