Debunking implausible gravity claims in pianism/boxing

• I
  • Thread starter Andrew Thayer
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Gravity
In summary, the conversation revolves around using scientific methods to discredit the idea of gravity playing a significant role in piano playing. The individual is seeking ways to measure the maximum potential frequency of free falling weight and is looking for theories or experiments to test this. Some studies and links are provided, and the conversation also touches on the relevance of gravity and the energy required to press a piano key.
Andrew Thayer
Hi,

Firstly, I'm primarily a musician with an interest in science. I'm particularly keen on using proper scientific methods to discredit a quasi-religious tendency for pianists to radically overhype the role of gravity in pianism. Here's one article I've written on the subject (which also debunks a load of nonsense from Jack Dempsey about gravity in boxing).

http://pianoscience.blogspot.co.uk/2015/11/piano-technique-weight-in-motion-boxing.html