1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Derivative of a rotating unit vector

1. Aug 9, 2014 #1
    I think this is a textbook-style question, if I am wrong, please redirect me to the forum section where I should have posted this. This is my first time here, so I am sorry if I am messing it up.

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

We have an n-dimensional vector [itex]\vec{r}[/itex] with a constant length [itex]\|\vec{r}\|=1[/itex]. The vector rotates with an angular speed [itex]\vec{ω}[/itex], which is also an n-dimensional vector and is a given function of time. I want to find first derivative of [itex]\vec{r}[/itex] with respect to time: [itex]\frac{d\vec{r}}{dt}-?[/itex]

2. Relevant equations
    3. The attempt at a solution

I don't really know how to tackle the problem. I think I've solved this for the 2-dimensional case, where [itex]\vec{r}\in\mathbb R^2[/itex] rotates with angular speed [itex]\dot{Θ}[/itex] (so [itex]Θ[/itex] would denote angular displacement from the original orientation). I doubt that it will be of any help with the general n-dimensional case, but here it is:

We can rewrite [itex]\vec{r}[/itex] as a product of a constant unit vector [itex]\vec{a}=const[/itex] and a rotational matrix [itex]T_Θ[/itex]:

[itex]\vec{r}=T_Θ\vec{a}[/itex], where [itex]T_Θ=\begin{pmatrix}
    \cosΘ & -\sinΘ\\
    \sinΘ & \cosΘ\\
    \end{pmatrix}[/itex] (1)

So time derivative of [itex]\vec{r}[/itex] can be written as:

[itex]\frac{d\vec{r}}{dt}=\frac{d(T_Θ)}{dt}\vec{a}[/itex] (2)

Then we do math:

[itex]\frac{d(T_Θ)}{dt}=\dot{Θ}\begin{pmatrix}
    -\sinΘ& -\cosΘ\\
    \cosΘ& -\sinΘ\\
    \end{pmatrix}=
    (-1)\dot{Θ}\begin{pmatrix}
    \cos(\frac{\pi}{2}-Θ)& \sin(\frac{\pi}{2}-Θ)\\