Designing coal feeders for a powerplant.

In summary: You could try to tabulate the enthalpy for each point in the system, or you could try to find the enthalpy at a point where the steam is at its most saturated and work from there.
Yander
I was given this problem as an excercise in thermodynamics and to better understand powerplant systems. I am having difficulties because as a civil engineering student I haven't taken a lot of thermodynamics. The one course I did take was several semesters ago and wasn't that advanced.

Homework Statement

We are building a 600 MegaWatt (gross) peaking unit coal plant.
The plant burns weatern coal assumed to have 8200 BTU/lb

Turbine Conditions
  • Turbine has High pressure, Intermediate Pressure and 2 Double Flow low pressure turbines.
  • Main Steam at 2400 psig, 1000 degress F
  • Reheat Steam at 1050 degrees F
  • Exhaust Condenser at 2.0 in Hga
  • No extractions for feedwater heaters

Boiler Data
  • Western coal is assumed to have 5% ash
  • 50 psig drop through the reheater
  • 75 psig drop through the econmmizer, waterwalls, drum, and superheater.
  • Stoichiometry in combustion zone is 0.97
  • Furnace exit gas temp is 600 F

Boiler Losses, in % of full load
  • 4.4% dry flue gas
  • 3.3% as fired fuel moisture
  • 4.4% H2 moisture
  • 0.7% Unburned carbon
  • 0.2% radiation and convection
  • 0.1% moisture in air
  • 0.5% unaccounted for losses

Turbine Data
  • HP exhaust pressure of 600 psig
  • HP effeciency of 0.88
  • IP/LP efficiency of 0.88

Use motor driven boiler feed pump

Do not consider the following:
  • Bearing and generator mechanical losses
  • Shaft seal leakages
  • Radiation and convective turbine losses
  • Station power loads
  • Atemperating sprays

The unit can reach full load with 5 coal mills. Design the neccesary coal feeders (Tons/Hr) to supply these mills to sustain the powerplant.

The Attempt at a Solution