Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Does a flame-heated red-hot metal emit electrons?

1. Jun 30, 2014 #1
    Hello this is my first post in this forum.
    I would like to ask something relatively simple and I need a simple answer please, since I am not a physics expert.
    Does a metal that has been red-hot heated using a flame, emit electrons? (like the electrically heated cathode of a vacuum tube does)

Last edited: Jun 30, 2014
  2. jcsd
  3. Jun 30, 2014 #2

davenn

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

hi there
    welcome to PF :smile:

have a look at this wiki link on thermionic emission

if that doesn't help, try typing thermionic emission into google as I did, there are many, many links of interest

cheers
    Dave

4. Jun 30, 2014 #3
    So a heated metal does emit electrons. Thanks a lot Dave!

5. Jun 30, 2014 #4

sophiecentaur

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

However, it isn't quite so simple.
    As the Thermionic electrons in a vacuum tube leave the cathode, it becomes positively charged. this limits the total number that will be lost before there are as many being re-attracted to the cathode as are leaving it (so called space charge around the cathode). If the rod is in air and not a vacuum, those electrons will be rapidly slowed down (collisions with air molecules) and will soon recombine with the rod again. The space charge will be restricted to a region very close to the hot rod.
    If a vacuum tube is driven correctly, the thermionic electrons will be attracted to an Anode (+) electrode and a current will flow rather than a space charge being formed.

6. Jun 30, 2014 #5
    Thank you, this makes sense.