Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Does anyone have an idea for a self-study syllabus?

1. Jul 15, 2010 #1
    A very odd question... But never-the-less I need some help w/ my personal QM studies.
    I'm just a lowly freshman here at UCSB and suddenly discovered an urge to study quantum mechanics.

My roommate is a top-notch Physics grad working on his PhD, and he helps me with problem solving; but his teaching skills are garbage! (He hates teaching and refuses to do it).

I've been working out of Griffiths for about 2-3 weeks now, normalizing probability densities, solving simple problems like the infinite square-well. Suddenly I find the material getting much more difficult and I don't know how to approach learning it. Sure I can push through everything in my path, but I honestly don't know when I've studied it enough!

Anyone got some ideas about the duration of time I should be spending on each topic in Griffiths? I'm sure many will say that I should do it until I've mastered it, but I'm kind of looking for a practical university perspective on the subject; I have no way of knowing when I have or have not mastered the material!

Maybe outlining the math I should cover between sections would help me out a bit.

I have walls upon walls of Physics literature (I collect it... don't ask why...), so don't be afraid to recommend a book.

So far I've been using Boas 2nd edition for Math and Griffiths Intro to Quantum (vol 1) for the QM.

Ideally... (and I know it's a big request), if someone could outline a syllabus based on Griffiths or Greiner for about a quarter to 2 quarters worth of material, that would be absolutely wonderful. I would truly be in debt.

Thanks for the help in advance, guys.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 15, 2010 #2
    Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2017
  4. Jul 15, 2010 #3

jtbell

Staff: Mentor