1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Courses Doing well in graduate physics courses

1. Mar 21, 2012 #1
    Hey everyone,

I am currently a first-year grad student, and I'm having a little bit of trouble in quantum mechanics. I'm doing alright in E&M and Stat Mech. but on the quantum mechanics exams, I'm usually scoring about 10-15 points below the median. To study, I first make sure that I'm thorough with the concepts, then I work through extra problems that weren't assigned for homework, but I still don't seem to be prepared enough for the tests. The professor I have is known for being tough, but if I'm behind the majority of the class, there must be something that I'm not doing right. Has anyone else had a similar experience? Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 21, 2012 #2
    Have you carefully analyzed where you have made mistakes on your exams, homeworks, etc?

4. Mar 21, 2012 #3
    An important question to ask is if you want to eventually do research for a career. If so, doing well in these classes is not really that important.

Note that you will have the rest of your career to catch up on these subjects.

General advice is to just ask as many questions about the the homework as you can until your time has ran out, and then just take the the exam and hope for the best. This is probably what you would do in actual research anyway, except in real life research there's not usually such an unrealistic deadline for understanding something as an exam

5. Mar 21, 2012 #4
    @ Jorriss:

Yes, I usually do pretty well on the homeworks, but if I lose points on an exam, I can understand why I lost points after looking at it a second time.

6. Mar 21, 2012 #5
    What kind of things have you been losing points on?