1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

E.Engr running out of ideas to enter the world of physics

1. May 3, 2010 #1
    Folks,
    I do Logic design and verification of Multi-core chips for a living (4th year in Semiconductor/Computer HW industry). I don't have much of a background in Physics outside my high school and some Applied Physics courses that I took in BS-EE and MS-EE. I don't covet a PhD in Physics, all I want is that at least 50% of what I do for a living involves solving Physics problems. Is that even possible? I've this idea: I'll get a PhD admit in EE. Since I've Solid State Physics background from my MS, I'll do my research in Quantum Computing for which I'll need to study Quantum Physics. Bottom line: I'm working towards a PhD in EE, but under the hood its mostly Physics. Once I get my PhD in EE I could end up in a semiconductor company R&D doing research and solving problems in ...drumroll... Physics, for a living.
    You can comment "Are you sure you're a Logic designer?". I know.
    I must be overlooking a lot of things here. That's why I depend on you guys to expose flaws in my idea and beat the hell out of it.
    Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. May 4, 2010 #2
    I have one more question on top of it. Do you know if signal processing is somehow related to high energy physics as solid state/semiconductor is more related to quantum physics?

4. May 4, 2010 #3
    hariyo,
    If you're asking about digital signal processing(DSP) then no it has nothing to do with physics. DSP is all math. It involves a lot of fourier transforms, z-transforms, time-frequency domain transformations, FIR filter, FFT design...stuff like that.

5. May 4, 2010 #4
    hi,