1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Educational alternatives for a beginner (Theoretical physics)

1. Jun 11, 2014 #1
    Hello phycisists,

I'm a sophomore high school student that recently finished the first grade and I have a question or two relating to physics.

I have been tested by a licensed psychologist that evaluated my cognitive functions and came to the conclusion that my overall intelligence quotient is around 87 because they fluctated a lot. Should this be a logical reason to not to become a phycisist in your honest opinion? I have the capability of understanding advanced sciences if we are excluding the mathematical part of it, especially geometry.

I want to become a theoretical astrophycisist (maybe quantum phycisist, still a high probability of occuring) but what should I study at this age (16, soon to be 17) in order to be mentally prepared of what that might appear during my course takings in the university? I can understand the concepts and every fact based information as long as I am reading it, but the mathematics might cause some tremendous problematic situations for me which are predictable and I need help.

What quantum physical/astrophysical book can you recommend me to get? I already know the mathematical topics that I need to understand before getting a book, but I just wanna be prepared.

My last question: Is a theoretical phycisist working with the principles concerning both astrophysics and quantum physics or is it simply put classical physics? I would preferably work with both but I'm not sure what it's called.

Thank you for your time and have a good day.

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 11, 2014 #2

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor