1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

EE/Math electives for signal processing

1. Dec 26, 2011 #1
    Hey,

I'm an EE undergrad looking to tentatively specialize in signal processing. My relevant background includes a course in signals/systems, introductory feedback control (using Nise), analog communication systems (using Haykin), introductory probability, the usual Calc I-IV sequence, linear algebra, ODEs, complex variables and two terms of discrete math (using Grimaldi). I'm also tentatively considering taking an intro to PDEs course if possible.

For scheduling and early graduation purposes, I'm trying to decide my future courses in advance. I have my pick of 5 fourth-year EE electives. I've decided on the first three slots: intro to DSP, analog signal processing circuits, and multimedia (image/audio) processing. I'm undecided on the remaining two slots and have narrowed it down to the following:

High Frequency Electronics
    Digital Communications
    Modern Control Systems
    There's also a course in Biomedical Signal/Image Processing that I'm not really considering (I want to stay away from biomed as much as I can). All three of the above courses look fairly interesting to me, and so my question is, assuming I can only take two of the above courses, which combination would be the most useful for someone interested in signal processing?

Also, would any math courses beyond what I've listed above be useful at this point?

Thank you.

p.s. the list of upper-year electives is much longer, but most of them concentrate on digital design, VLSI design, microfabrication, CAD/CAM, robotics and the like.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 26, 2011 #2