Electricity from steam at home?

In summary, the conversation discusses the feasibility of using a multi-fuel stove to generate electricity and heat water. The idea is to use a boiler attached to the stove to produce steam, which would then drive a small steam turbine. However, it is mentioned that this may not be the most efficient or cost-effective option. Alternative suggestions, such as using a Stirling engine or thermophotovoltaic cells, are also discussed. The conversation ends with a mention of a company that already has a similar product on the market.
Leejjay
The idea I have is that on a multi fuel stove I could have a boiler attached to it to heat water for the purpose of steam, then the steam in turn to drive a small steam turbine to produce electricity and the steam then to condense and return to water. Thus allowing the process to start again??

So is there anyway this is done, or can be done on a domestic scale?

Please bear in mind that I'm not an engineer or a physicist. I'm just a guy with an idea?

Engineering news on Phys.org
Yes, it certainly can be done, but why would you want to? It is dangerous and unlikely to save you any money.

I guess the goal is to have all home energy coming from burning wood? If you live deep in the woods, this makes sense. Trees block wind and sun, thus disabling the option for renewable energy (assuming there is no nearby stream to stick a turbine in). And, such a location makes fuel delivery very expensive. What's left? Trees to burn like crazy!

You might want to look into a Stirling Engine instead of a boiler. Boiling water takes a lot of energy for the amount of expansion you get I believe. Using compressed gas instead might be more efficient.

Yup as others have said, it will work but why? The gas/wood you use from the stove will be far far more expensive than whatever you're hoping to use the electricity to save money for.