EMF v time graph vs change in flux v time

In summary, the conversation discusses a question from the 2007 HSC that asks to choose the best graph of induced emf based on a graph of change in magnetic flux vs time. The expert summarizer explains that emf is determined by the negative time derivative of flux and is at maximum when the flux-time graph is steepest. They also clarify that the vertical lines in the graph do not have any significance. The conversation ends with a clarification about the purpose of the vertical lines.
alv
I'm actually a teacher and I can't explain this problem from the 2007 HSC. I've attached a copy of the question and the two graphs. The question shows a graph of change in magnetic flux vs time and asks you to choose which graph of induced emf best fits it. I don't understand why the induced emf is at max even while the change in flux increases (or decreases).

I've searched for help on this but can't find it. I'd appreciate any explanation you could give me.

Thanks

Homework Statement

Please see above

Homework Equations

Please see above

The Attempt at a Solution

Please see above

Attachments

• For physics forums.png
    For physics forums.png
    9.9 KB · Views: 13,148
Physics news on Phys.org
emf= -ΔΦ/Δt, more accurately, the negative of the time derivative of the flux. The magnitude of the emf is maximum when the flux-time graph is steepest. ΔΦ is the change of the flux in time interval Δt.
As the graph consists of linear segments, the emf is constant within one segment. The vertical lines do not mean anything.
ehild

Actually there's no maximum or minimum value. Just polarity change due to changes in gradient.Normally verticall line is dotted.

Thanks heaps for this.

Dear teacher,