Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I Experiment Ideas using an MRI scanner?

Tags:
  1. May 9, 2018 #1
    So I've stumbled upon a really cool opportunity this summer, where I basically have a hospital which has agreed to let me do an experiment using their 3T MRI machine. I'm a physics undergrad and I want to do a physics experiment using the MRI, but I have absolutely no idea what to do. I've tried speaking to staff in the department but they've all said this isn't their area and they can't help. If anyone has any ideas, I would really appreciate it, I don't want to miss out on this opportunity!!

2. jcsd
  3. May 9, 2018 #2

ZapperZ

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Wait, let me understand this correctly. You requested the use of a facility before you actually came up with a plan on what to use it for? And they agreed to it, even though no one in your department has any expertise in this area?

Wow! Where do I find such places?

Zz.

4. May 9, 2018 #3
    Haha yeah, I didn't exactly request the MRI officially, more of an it's-who-you-know situation. I'm not entirely sure what they'll allow me to do with it, but I'm on very good terms with the chairman of the board and it's a private hospital so I'll have a fair amount of freedom, I think.

5. May 9, 2018 #4

ZapperZ

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

So you have this machine. Do you know exactly what it can and can't do? I mean, EXACTLY, as in capability, specs, limitations, type of data one can get, etc....etc. It is a bit silly to ask on a forum for suggestions when none of us (and you), don't quite know what something like this is capable of.