Experimental Fluid Mechanics Videos Series

In summary: I really appreciate the effort that you put into compiling these and I'm sure that other students will too!
Clausius2
Science Advisor
Gold Member
Hi everyone,

Maybe this resource is new for someone. It's a collection of videos made in the 60's by the very best experimentalist scientists of the best universities of the United States. There you may watch how Taylor gives you a lesson in Low Reynolds Flow, how Lighthill gives a lesson in Compressible Flow, how Shapiro talks about Vorticity. It's wonderful to see the experimental techniques available in those times. I've only watched a 30% of the videos, but I must admit they are of an extraordinary quality, accurate and worthy.

They try to explain basic and traditional concepts of fluid mechanics, and how we've reached an status in which the formulation widely fits with the real world. I wish I had the opportunity to watch this videos when I was an undergrad.

People who enters in this forum and asks about fluid mechanics is encouraged to take a look at this webpage:

http://web.mit.edu/fluids/www/Shapiro/ncfmf.html

Enjoy them and pay attention to every second, every word of these videos!

Last edited by a moderator:
Likes ANIL KUMAR MEC, MexChemE, osama ramadan and 2 others
Engineering news on Phys.org
I am taking Fluids this summer, so I am watching these old clips right now, all I can say is WOW! These are GREAT! I love old videos like these from the 60's, look at his clean cut parted hair cut, GREAT stuff :cool:

Great find Clausius. For some reason I can't get the videos to work, but that just may be my work firewall.

Happy to see people enjoying them.

Fred, you need realplayer to run them. Try on another computer.