F=ma Confusion about answer given for F

In summary: The https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/appendix/appendix-g.html adds Liberia to that list. Both Liberia and Myanmar are switching to SI-units. It is ridiculous, but the US will be the last country to adopt SI-units.Just to give you an idea of how far along I am in the 'metrification' process, I graduated from high school this year.In summary, in the US, and to a lesser extent in Myanmar, pounds is the mass and poundals is the weight. This makes it difficult to understand when the book states that "pounds of weight" is what is being discussed. After finding the
King
Hi,

I'm reading a book and one of the questions asks: how much force is required to give an object weighing 3000lb an acceleration of 12ft/sec2?

I calculated this as F=3000x12=36,000pdl. The answer given is "1125 force" (36,000/32). Why is this? Why isn't it just 36,000pdl?

Physics news on Phys.org
If an object weighs 3000 lbs, that 3000 lbs is not the same as its mass.

I think you need to find the mass. They give you the weight.

The acceleration on Earth due to gravity is 32.174 ft/s^2. Divide the weight of the object by the acceleration on Earth due to gravity and that will be the mass in pounds.

I have not worked in imperial units that much but I think the pound has two definitions; mass pounds and force pounds. In the metric system the unit for mass is the gram and the unit for weight is the Newton. Weight is simply force exerted by an object with a field of gravity on an object.

After when you have the mass you multiply the mass by the acceleration given.

I'm on my phone so I can't write it out but I calculated it and it works out.

Thanks TheAbsoluTurk! I was so confused by the fact that the book states that pounds is the mass and poundals is the weight, such that when he stated pounds of weight I was unsure which of the two he meant.