Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Faster then the speed of light

1. Sep 22, 2008 #1
    Im a college student, first year of chemistry, but i just had a thought about light speed...
    lets say you have two particles, particle A and particle B. Particle A has a mass of 10 while B has a mass of 1. They are both traveling at the speed of light but are perpendicular to each other.
    If these particles were to hit then one particle would transfer more energy to the other (not sure which one, i think A has the net gain...) but basically, simple maths says that if A is traveling at the speed of light and then has a force applied perpendicular to it then the resultant force would be greater then the speed of light.

This is only a simple thought and the situation is open to interpretation

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 22, 2008 #2

Integral

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Problem 1. Massive objects cannot move at the speed of light.
    Problem 2. What do you mean by "the resultant force would be greater then the speed of light" How can a force be greater then a velocity?

4. Sep 22, 2008 #3

DrChinese

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Welcome to Physicsforums, toxonic!

The first comment is that "simple math" does not apply. That is the interesting thing about physics, a lot of key theory does not consist of simple (sometimes called classical) math. When it comes to velocity, .75c +.75c does not equal 1.5c (no matter how you interact particles, the result is always less than c). That was the amazing discovery of Einstein over 100 years ago! Please note that this "mere theory" of Einstein has been verified experimentally many many times. In fact all particle accelerators rely on his Special Relativity to work.