FE/PE. How necessary for advancement?

• Thread starter Jynx18
  • Start date
In summary, the process of obtaining a PE license is necessary for some fields, particularly those that involve local work and require a professional engineer seal. However, in fields with a national or international focus, the PE may not be as critical. It is also important to note that having a PE does not necessarily mean an engineer is competent in their field, as it is primarily a way to assign responsibility and liability. The requirements for obtaining a PE can vary from state to state, and reciprocity may be necessary if an engineer wishes to work in a different state. Ultimately, the decision to pursue a PE license depends on an engineer's career goals and the requirements of their specific field.
Jynx18
I have a bachelors and masters in mechanical engineering and am wondering how necessary the PE license process is for progression. I have not taken the FE yet (but will this year) and feel it would be the next thing to help me progress.

What is your feeling on this? Have you personally found it to be critical?

Physics news on Phys.org
It depends very much on the field in which you work, who you work for, and what you do. Fields that are local in nature, yes you are going to need that professional certification. It's not so important in fields of a national or international flavor, but even there some employers still prefer those engineers who do have that professional certification.