Is a PE license really that difficult to obtain?

• Thread starter A.J.710
  • Start date
In summary: Getting a PE license is not as difficult as people make it out to be. However, it is important to remember that a PE license is a certification and not a guarantee of success. If you are interested in pursuing a career in engineering, then you should definitely get your PE license. However, it is not necessary to wait until after you graduate to get your license. There are a number of ways to get started, and the advice above is just a start. Good luck!
A.J.710
I am currently in my second year of college majoring in electrical engineering. I was wondering if getting a PE license is really as difficult as people say it is. I am in one of the top engineering universities. I am not an outstanding student but I do my work and do fairly well and understand the material. I would really like to get my PE license some time after I graduate because my dad owns an electrical contracting company in NYC and told me if I get that he could easily hook me up with reviewing and signing off on electrical drawings and permits through his company as a side job. Everyone I speak too says only about 20% of people pass the test though and that worries me. Is it really that hard to get? What are some suggestions I could do to work towards really knowing the material for the FE and PE exams throughout the next few years of college?

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
If it was easy then every one might do it. It is designed for engineers who have gained at least four years’ post-college work experience in their chosen engineering discipline.