1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Figuring out relationships with graphs

1. May 18, 2006 #1
    Ok, so as part of a lab, I had to make an excel graph of the relationship between skid distance and cone length (if you want to know more, look at my post below about science fair which was posted yesterday at 6:25 pm). Anyways, I made the graph and I can't tell the relationship between the two variables. I am just a freshman with little math behind me, so I can't quite determine the relationship just by looking at it. Please give me soem tips on determining the relationship as shown on my graph. (I tried to attach it, but the site said it was invalid, so I can't)
    Thanks!

Last edited: May 18, 2006
  2. jcsd
  3. May 18, 2006 #2

Hootenanny

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Could you describe it? Or perhaps you could sopy it into an image editing program and attached it as an image?

~H

4. May 18, 2006 #3
    ok, I uploaded it...can we just say it is an inverse relationship?

Attached Files:

Last edited: May 18, 2006
  5. May 18, 2006 #4

Hootenanny

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Well, I'll let you start. Does skid distance increase or decrease with increasing cone length?

~H

6. May 18, 2006 #5
    it decreases in this portion of the graph

7. May 18, 2006 #6
    so wouldn't it just be an inverse relationship because as cone length increases, skid distance decreases?

8. May 18, 2006 #7

Hootenanny

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Almost but the curve isn't a straight line is it? What kind of curve does it look like?

~H

9. May 18, 2006 #8
    its exponential. what does that mean about skid distance and cone length?