1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics Final year as an undergrad and starting to worry about jobs

1. Oct 8, 2016 #1
    I am in my last year as an undergrad and will be graduating in the spring with a BS in Physics. I personally have terrible grades this including overall GPA and major specific GPA (currently around a 2.2 for both). At this point, bringing my GPA up is nearly impossible without some post baccalaureate schooling but I'm afraid that isn't possible with my grades and financially. I have looked into potential jobs and the only jobs that have seen for people with a BS in physics is either research or engineering but I feel like for both I will not be able to compete against engineers and people with a higher GPA than me. Experience wise, I have little to none because all of my time was spent on trying to be able to pay for college so I have not had the time to reach out and instead have worked on campus as a supervisor for the last 4 years.

PS: The first question I usually get is why I chose physics in the first place and that is because it interested me at the classical and quantum levels but now that I have struggled and surprising learned the material, my interest has disappeared and now I want to work as an engineer.

Thank you in advance for those that reply!

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 8, 2016 #2

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

It's going to be very hard for you to find a suitable job. You should really look for some more years of engineering eduction.

4. Oct 9, 2016 #3

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor