Finding deriviative of lyapunov's equation (chain rule/linear algebra)

• Thread starter james1234
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Algebra
In summary, the conversation is about a person trying to understand a derivation in a textbook on feedback control of dynamic systems. They are new to linear algebra and are struggling with the use of the chain rule for differentiation of a Lyapunov function. They are also unsure about the meaning of a positive matrix. The conversation ends with someone pointing out a step that was missing in the person's understanding.
james1234
Hi there!

I am just trying to work though a simple deriviation presented in a txt book (feedback control of dynamic systems p 616). I am REALLY new to linear algebra and they have skipped too many steps!

they have used the chain rule for differentiation of V(x) (a lyapunov function) where V = xTPx ; where P is a symetric positive matrix (i have not been able to find reference to a 'positive matrix'.. is a positive-definite matrix the same thing?)

Thus we have;

d[tex]/dt[/tex]xTPx = x[tex]\dot{}[/tex]TPx + xTPx[tex]\dot{}[/tex]

from there we somehow get to

xT(FTP + PF)x (where i believe F is the 'state' matrix usually represened as A ie X dot = Fx + bu )

if someone could point me in the right direction it would really be appreciated!

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
It doesn't have much to do with calculus, it's just plugging in the definition.
The only step that you might be missing is that (AB...XYZ)T = ZT YT XT ... BT AT for some matrices / vectors A, ..., Z.

hi CompuChip

thankyou so much for for taking the time to reply!
despite all the time I have spent pooring over it I just couldn't see it!
(and yes I was missing that step!)

thanks again! :)

1. What is the Lyapunov equation?