Finding original speed / acceleration

In summary, the conversation discusses finding the original speed and acceleration of a truck that covers 40.0m in 8.50s while slowing down to a final speed of 2.80 m/s. The equations x = v0*t + 1/2 *a*t2 and v2 = v02 + 2*a*x are suggested to solve for the two variables. The confusion arises when trying to determine which variable represents acceleration and velocity. It is suggested to use algebra to solve for the variables, with a = (Vf - V0)/T and V0 = 40 m/8.5 s to get an initial velocity of 4.71 m/s.
mrserv0n
Im new to this stuff so bear with me. I am really only looking for help as to what equation I use to find these answers.

A truck covers 40.0m in 8.50s while smoothly slowing down to a final speed of 2.80 m/s.

A. Find the trucks original speed.

B. Find the its acceleration.

Physics news on Phys.org
try using solving for 2 variables, initial speed and acceleration, in 2 equations:
x = v0*t + 1/2 *a*t2
and
v2 = v02 + 2*a*x

Im confused as to which is number is my accelartion and which is my velocity

you know 3 variables, x = 40.0m, t = 8.50s, and v = 2.80m/s
you need to find v0, the initial speed, and a, the acceleration

use your knowledge of algebra to find these 2 variables in 2 equations

Sorry to bring this post back from the dead -- but I'm doing this problem right now, and is V0 supposed to be 0? If I use formula VFinal: 2.80 m/s = V0 + AT (A being unknown at this point) and T being 8.5 seconds...

I'm left with a mad scramble of algebra where V0 = .33m-A

I'm constantly getting confused as to what to use when in these kinematics equations.

a(acceleration) = Vf-V0/T

a= 2.8m/s - V0 / 8.5 s

How would I go about plugging that in...that would still leave me with two variables none of which I seem to be able to solve for.

Is Vo supposed to be 40 m/ 8.5 s to get 4.71 m/s initial velocity?

What is the formula for finding original speed?