Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Finding the first roots of a function with Mathematica

1. Apr 16, 2010 #1
    Hello everyone,

I have just created my account here and so this is my first post and I would like to appologise if my question may have been posted by someone else.

I am new to mathematica but I am very found of the program. So much so that I am trying to use it for one of my research projects as an alternative for mathcad which I've been using for many years and with many frustrations.

I have managed to work my way through functions and what not (I am still learning) but at the moment I've reached a delicate problem. I have this single variable function which has many roots and I would like to know how can I find them all.

I can use FindRoot and get one root at the time given I chose the proper starting value. But is there a way I can tell mathematica to find, for exemple, the first 5 or 10 roots?

As I said I am quite knew to Mathematica so this question might sound silly but any help would be much appreciated.
  2. jcsd
  3. Apr 17, 2010 #2

Filip Larsen

Gold Member

Perhaps NSolve is more like what you want.
  4. Apr 17, 2010 #3
    NSolve doesnt solve it, appears the follow message: " The equations appear to involve the variables to be solved for in an essentially non-algebraic way. "
    I have to really use FindRoot, but how the equation involves trigonometry has inifinite solutions. I Just want the first 10.
  5. Apr 17, 2010 #4
    You can restrict the search range of FindRoot and tabulate a series of them moving the search region along the number line then stop when you find the 10th.
  6. Apr 17, 2010 #5
    But how to introduce such "stop" in FindRoot function? I have seen the entire documention and it not say anything about it.
  7. Apr 18, 2010 #6

Gold Member