Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Fluid mechanics: intuition about the 'convective' term

1. Feb 12, 2015 #1
    Hi,
    I am doing an introductory course on fluid mechanics, and I'd like some intuition (that's why I'm posting on the engineering forums and not on the math forums, even if I'm studying for a degree in math) about the concept of the total derivative and, particularly, its convective component.

The total derivative of a vector field is defined as:
    [tex]\frac {D \bf u}{Dt}= \frac {\partial u} {\partial t} + ({\bf u} \cdot \nabla){\bf u}[/tex]where the first term is the 'local' acceleration and the second the 'convective' acceleration.

I have no problem (I think) with the purely symbolic manipulation on the second term,
    [tex]({\bf u} \cdot \nabla){\bf u} = u_1 \frac {\partial u_1}{\partial x} + u_2 \frac {\partial u_2}{\partial y} + u_3 \frac {\partial u_3}{\partial z}[/tex]where [itex]{\bf u} = u_1 {\bf i} + u_2 {\bf j} + u_3 {\bf k}[/itex] is the velocity vector. I just need to wrap my head around about the physical interpretation of it. The explanation of it being the 'acceleration following the motion' is a bit too vague, and I was wishing for some intuition about it.

A similar operation appears also applied to scalar fields, as in the continuity equation for (possibly compressible) flows,