1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Force required to destroy identical objects....

1. Jul 12, 2015 #1
    ...moving at different velocities?
    Hi, i'm a college student who has just taken an interest in Physics and I was up all night yesterday thinking about this. Suppose you have two identical rock, boulder, mountain or whatever sized objects but one is moving at a extremely high velocity while the other is stationary. Would it take more energy to destroy that object given it's speed, or, since both objects are identical, would it not matter? I know it would take more energy/force to change the direction and velocity of the moving object but what about outright obliterating it?? And these are external forces btw...like a grenade or something like that....

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 12, 2015 #2

phinds

Gold Member
    2016 Award

This is a meaningless statement since all motion is relative and you have not specified a frame of reference for either one, plus the fact that you could, for example, specify a frame of reference in which one of the objects is at rest OR you could choose a frame of reference in which the other object is at rest.

4. Jul 12, 2015 #3

Drakkith

Staff: Mentor

The amount of energy required to destroy something does not depend on the objects velocity. This is a result of the fact that an object moving at a high velocity in one frame of reference can be moving at a completely different velocity in another frame of reference. In its own frame of reference it is stationary.

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 19, 2015
  5. Jul 12, 2015 #4