Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Fortran Segmentation fault

1. Aug 16, 2011 #1
    Hi, I am new in fortran.
    I have this code in fortran 90, I get segmentation fault when I run my program, can you help me please, I am desperate!!!

SUBROUTINE COUNTX(NX,ncov)
    IMPLICIT NONE
    INTEGER, INTENT(IN)::ncov
    INTEGER,DIMENSION(ncov),INTENT(INOUT)::NX(:)
    INTEGER:: AUX,i

DO i=1,ncov
    print *,NX(i)
    END DO

END SUBROUTINE

PROGRAM minSC
    IMPLICIT NONE
    INTEGER::ncov,i
    INTEGER,ALLOCATABLE::NX(:)

PRINT "(A)","Give me the value ncov "
    read(*,*),ncov
    allocate(NX(ncov))

DO i=1,Ncov
    NX(i)=0

END DO
    CALL COUNTX(NX,ncov)

END PROGRAM

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 16, 2011 #2

Mark44

Staff: Mentor

I don't believe you should have that second comma in your read statement. IOW, I believe you should have this:
    Code (Text):

read(*,*) ncov

There might be other things causing your segmentation fault, but my knowledge of Fortran is from F77.

4. Sep 4, 2011 #3
    I think you have compiled the code. If the problem occurs when you run executable file then it is classical memory problem. So may need to increase memory limits before running the exe-file. there are several type of commands ex:

limit stacksize unlimited
    limit memoryuse unlimited
    limit vmemoryuse unlimited
    ulimit -s 8000000

may be more.

Just try!!!!

5. Sep 17, 2011 #4
    Where does the segmentation fault occur exactly? Does your program print anything first, or does it happen right at the beginning?