FORTRAN-Passing array to subroutine-segmentation fault

• Fortran
  • Thread starter shitij
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Array Fault
In summary, the conversation is about a user who is new to Fortran and is having trouble with a code that passes an array to a subroutine and prints it. There is a discussion about why the size of the array is not being printed correctly in the subroutine and why there is a segmentation fault. The user shares their code and asks for help in understanding the issue. The conversation ends with a solution being shared and the user thanking everyone for their prompt replies and assistance.
shitij
Hi all !

I am new to fortran. Please see the following code. It is a simple code to pass an array to a subroutine and print it, but doesn't behave that way:

Code:
    program exp_realloc
    implicit none

integer,allocatable,dimension(:,:):: array
    integer::i,j

allocate(array(3,3))

write(*,*)size(array,1)," ",size(array,2)

do i=1,3
        do j=1,3
            array(i,j)=i*j
            write(*,*)array(i,j)
        enddo
        write(*,*)
    enddo

CALL func(array)

end program exp_realloc

subroutine func(array)

integer,dimension(:,:),intent(in)::array
    integer::i,j

write(*,*)"********* Inside subroutine **********"
    write(*,*)size(array,1)," ",size(array,2)

write(*,*)array(1,1)
    write(*,*)array(1,2)
    write(*,*)array(2,1)
    do i=1,3
        do j=1,3
            write(*,*)array(i,j)
        enddo
    enddo

end subroutine func

The output is:
Code:
    3 3
    ********* Inside subroutine **********
    131097 1
    Segmentation fault

Two questions:

1. Why is the size of array not being printed correctly in the subroutine?
2. Why the segmentation fault? Even array(1,1) can't be accessed?

Thank you in advance !

Technology news on Phys.org
I'm going to play with this for a minute. Just letting you know someone is looking and doing something.