1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Four complex points lie on a circle proof

1. Dec 21, 2012 #1
    This isn't really homework. I'm studying What Is Mathematics by myself. But I'm very stuck on one of its exercises.

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

Prove that if for four complex numbers [itex]z_{1}[/itex], [itex]z_{2}[/itex], [itex]z_{3}[/itex] and [itex]z_{4}[/itex] the angles of [itex]\frac{z_{3} - z_{1}}{z_{3} - z_{2}}[/itex] and [itex]\frac{z_{4} - z_{1}}{z_{4} - z_{2}}[/itex] are the same, then the four numbers lie on a circle or on a straight line, and conversely.

2. Relevant equations

[itex]x^{2} + y^{2} = r^{2}[/itex] and [itex]ax + b = c[/itex]?

3. The attempt at a solution

I can prove that the quotient between two complex numbers with the same angle is real, using the trigonometric form of the complex numbers (z = [itex]\rho(\cos(\phi) + i\sin(\phi))[/itex]. I have [itex]\frac{z_{3} - z_{1}}{z_{3} - z_{2}} = \rho_{123}(\cos(\phi) + i \sin(\phi))[/itex] and [itex]\frac{z_{4} - z_{1}}{z_{4} - z_{2}} = \rho_{124}(\cos(\phi) + i \sin(\phi))[/itex].

Between two complex numbers, z and z', if the angle between the two are real, then:

[itex]\frac{z}{z'} = \frac{\rho_{z}(cos(\phi) + i \sin(\phi))}{\rho_{z'}(\cos(\phi) + i \sin(\phi))} = \frac{\rho_{z}}{\rho_{z'}}(\cos(\phi - \phi) + i \sin(\phi - \phi)) = \frac{\rho_{z}}{\rho_{z'}}(\cos{0} + i \sin {0}) = \frac{\rho_{z}}{\rho_{z'}}[/itex]

I have [itex]\frac{z_{3} - z_{1}}{z_{3} - z_{2}} = \rho_{123}(\cos(\phi) + i \sin(\phi))[/itex] and [itex]\frac{z_{4} - z_{1}}{z_{4} - z_{2}} = \rho_{124}(\cos(\phi) + i \sin(\phi))[/itex] so that [itex]\frac{\frac{z_{3} - z_{1}}{z_{3} - z_{2}}} {\frac{z_{4} - z_{1}}{z_{4} - z_{2}}}= \frac{\rho_{123}}{\rho_{124}}[/itex].