Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Fourier transform of a wave equation

1. Aug 4, 2009 #1
    Hello, I have a question about the following problem:

Given a wave equation [tex]\Psi(n,t)[/tex] where t is the time, and n is an integer. What is the fourier transform?

I'm trying to reproduce this paper: One-dimensional Quantum Walks by Ambainis et al. (http://citeseer.ist.psu.edu/old/514019.html"), and here says that the spatial fourier transform of such a wave is [tex]\widetilde{\Psi}(k,t)=\sum_n \Psi(n,t)e^{ikn}[/tex], without a "-" minus sign on the exponential. Why is that?

The fourier transform is defined with a minus there!! Or am I missing some property?

I am no expert in fourier analysis but can we interchange the use of the signs between the transform and the inverse transform?

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 24, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Aug 4, 2009 #2
    Notice that n is in Z (integers) not N, so assuming that the wavefunction is even, it makes no difference whether we put the minus sign there or not. I don't claim to know what the author is getting at with this line of reasoning, though.
    The author refers to [11] when that transform is put forward. I daresay if you look at that reference you would probably get a definitive answer to your question.

4. Aug 4, 2009 #3

Hans de Vries

Science Advisor

The plus sign is because it's the time component of the wavefunction.

The 4D Quantum mechanical Fourier transform is defined as:

[tex]
    \mbox{\Large F} (p^\mu) \ \stackrel{\mathrm{def}}{=}\ ~~\int\limits_{-\infty}^{+\infty}~dx^4~ \mbox{\Large f}(x^\mu) ~~ e^{+i\, p_\mu\, x^\mu}
    [/tex]

and its inverse is defined as:

[tex]
    ~\mbox{\Large f}(x^\mu) ~~\stackrel{\mathrm{def}}{=} ~~ \int\limits_{-\infty}^{+\infty} \frac{dp^4}{(2 \pi)^4}~\mbox{\Large F}(p^\mu) \ e^{-i\, p_\mu\,x^\mu}
    [/tex]

With the standard definition: