From BSc in Computer Science to MSc in Physics and

In summary, the individual's motivation for switching from computer science to physics was their interest in fundamental principles and desire for a new challenge. They faced challenges in developing their math skills and adjusting to the more theoretical nature of physics. Their background in computer science has aided their studies in physics through problem-solving and adaptability. They recommend researching both fields and seeking guidance before making a similar switch. Their career goals after completing their MSc in physics include pursuing a career in quantum computing research and development.
eminem.mosh
hi guys

I completed my computer science degree from http://www.staffs.ac.uk/" [Broken] with a First Class honours. I figured out that my true passion lies mainly with Physics :(

Can I do an MSc in Physics or any related physics specialization (such as Glaciology, Cosmology)?

I am planning to pursue my masters in Canada.

Thanks and Regards
Mosh

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
You can, but it'll be very hard without taking a couple years of undergraduate physics courses. A program would probably even require you to take them before allowing you in.

1. What motivated you to switch from computer science to physics?

I have always been interested in both fields, but I found myself more drawn to the fundamental principles and theories of physics. I wanted to challenge myself and explore a new area of science.

2. Did you face any challenges during the transition?

Yes, there were certainly challenges. Physics requires a strong foundation in mathematics, which I had to work on developing. Additionally, the coursework and research in physics are more theoretical and conceptual compared to the more applied nature of computer science.

3. How does your background in computer science benefit your studies in physics?