Frustrated computer science student

In summary, you have been able to get through a computer science class without understanding what you've been taught, but eventually the light will go on and everything will make more sense.
SuperSusanoo
Hello people,

I am currently a computer science student and I think that what I am doing is not making any sense. Everyday I wake up and go to a class that doesn't make any sense to me. I study just to pass a foolish exam. That's not learning. That's not life. The reason why I chose computer science is because when I start programming, I lose the notion of time. I don't really know anything about software development, but I feel that I like it because even if I have to program a very simple thing in html, I can't stop doing it until it's done. I have never been able to understand what the teacher explains even since kinder-garden. I don't know if my mind gets distracted when I don't understand an idea. What should I do?. My grades are very good, but I just realized grades are not enough.

Physics news on Phys.org
SuperSusanoo said:
I have never been able to understand what the teacher explains even since kinder-garden.

Can you elaborate a bit on this? How have you been able to get to where you are without understanding what you've been taught? When you're given a goal, such as to write a piece of software or bit of code to perform a certain task, can you write it? Do you understand why it works the way it works?

SuperSusanoo said:
I am currently a computer science student and I think that what I am doing is not making any sense. Everyday I wake up and go to a class that doesn't make any sense to me. I study just to pass a foolish exam